Jorhat District Sessions Judge Court announced death sentence to Prime accused in Dr. Deben Dutta lynching case

Jorhat, Assam, 20th October 2020: A historic decision was taken by the Jorhat District Sessions Judge Court today, where a punishment of death sentence was awarded to the prime accused Sanjay Rajowar for the lynching of Late Dr. Deben Dutta at a dispensary in Teok Tea Estate on August 2019. The other 24 convicts in the lynching case has been sentenced to life imprisonment with a fine of Rs. 1000.

The late Dr. Deben Dutta was lynched by a mob on 31st August 2019 for an alledged late rersponse in attending to a worker named Somra Majhi at Teok Tea Estate, Jorhat, Assam dispensary. The mob attacked with sharp weapons and Dr. Dutta succumed to death while he was being taken to the Hospital. The convicts who are sentenced for a life imprisonment are namely Sanjiv Rajowar, Bablu Rajowar, Ratul Rajowar, Suresh Rajowar, Ajoy Majhi, Upendra Bhumij, Bijoy Rajowar, Bolin Rajowar, Dipak Rajowar, Milon Rajowar, Rinku Majhi, Mishilal Majhi, Debeswar Rajowar, Sibcharan Mahali, Kartik Bhumiz, Sanjoy Rajowar, Kalicharan Mahali, Rameswar Bhumiz, Rahul Rajowar, Siba Mahali, Kalanag Majhi, Rinku Bagti, Manoj Majhi and Anil Majhi.

The Indian Medical Association (IMA) took a strong stand on this lynching death of the tenured doctor and demanded trial of the case in a fast track court as the lives of doctors are at a threat in these cases. The window of the late Doctor Mrs. Aparajita Dutta has welcomed the courts decision in convicting so many people in any case in Assam.




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here